I survived CrossFit

April 12, 2012 at 3:17 AM 4 comments

Ok, ok, so I only tried it once. But hey, my WOD (workout of the day) was Running Fran. Running Fran, people!

What’s the big deal about Running Fran? As I learned at my trial class at Reebok CrossFit Liberty Village, CrossFit has certain benchmark workouts, which are named after hurricanes, and Fran is a renowned for being one of the toughest WODs — seriously, google it and you’ll see it strikes fear in many a CrossFitters heart.  And the one I did was a modified version as it also incorporated running, yo. Here’s the breakdown of our WOD (and your aim is to complete it all as fast as you can):

  • 21 thrusters (a squat holding a 15-lb bar at your shoulders, and then when rising out of the squat thrusting the bar up overhead by raising arms straight)
  • 21 pullups
  • run (I forget the distance, 200 metres, perhaps?) (Correction: just found out it was 500 metres)
  • 15 thrusters
  • 15 pullups
  • run
  • 9 thrusters
  • 9 pullups
  • run

Whew! Tired just thinking about it!

Ok, full disclosure: I could not complete a pullup if my life depended on it — thankfully,  the moves in CrossFit are designed to be scaleable.  So we used resistance bands to assist us in completing pullups. Oh, and that 15-lb bar we used for thrusters? Women are prescribed to use a 65-lb weight, yowzers! I was plenty pooped with just the 15-lb bar.

As for the run, well, that part was a cinch (I am in training for a marathon right now, remember?); the run was a welcome break, in fact (although I was probably supposed to sprint it, oopsies…).

All in all, though, I’m pretty happy I was able to complete it with a decent time (decent in my opinion, anyhow).

Still not sure what CrossFit is or if you can handle it? Check out my article on Lipstick Powder n Paint for a more detailed description of the workout concept.

Entry filed under: Fitness Swellness. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

How r u? The Weekly Nail Report — the Louboutin edition

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Leila  |  April 12, 2012 at 8:36 AM

    Congrats Karen on completing…definitely sounds challenging.

    Reply
    • 2. healthandswellness  |  April 12, 2012 at 9:10 AM

      Thanks! I think I might try it again (arms got a fantastic workout)!

      Reply
  • 3. Allison  |  April 12, 2012 at 9:38 AM

    It was 500 metres! Way to go Karen – hope to see you at the gym soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 230 other followers

Twitter Updates

Categories


