The Nail Report: The Las Vegas light-show edition

November 30, 2012 at 8:00 AM 6 comments

Nail-job craving: I was sad to say goodbye to my sexy, leathery Revlon nails…but I had to get a half-marathon manicure for running the Las Vegas Rock n Roll Half-Marathon this Sunday. I told Leeanne Colley at Tips Nail Bar three weeks ago about the race, and she started brainstorming.

How I satisfied that craving: To be honest, Leeanne and I struggled a bit. I mean, there are lots of things synonomous with Vegas…but not much I’d want to actually wear on my nails (Dice, for example? Corny.). I want stylish, not tacky, after all. We googled images and chatted and the main thing I think of when it comes to Vegas are all the lights on the Strip, and Leeanne came across a picture of a concert with the effects of a light show and we both thought it’d work well as a graphic nail, so here’s how she replicated it on my nails —

She applied Artistic Color Gloss in Wham, a blue, on tips of my nails and then Shellac in Black Pool on the bottom half. Then overtop of the Wham, she applied CND Addititives in Cerulean Blue and then sealed all of that in with a topcoat. Using China Glaze in In the Limelight, she carefully painted on the “lasers” using a thin brush.

How this nail colour makes me feel: Like I’ve got my own little light show on my fingertips. (Oh, btw, if you follow me on Twitter, Leeanne was semi-joking about applying battery-operated lights onto my hands and nails…but how cool would that be?! I totally got right onto google looking for tiny, adhesive LEDs that would work for this purpose…alas, no such lights exist, not that I could find anyhow).

Love it or hate it: Love. But I can’t get the J Lo song “Waiting for Tonight” outta my head (remember the light show in that video?). The nail totally works with the “Strip at Night” theme of the race.

Entry filed under: Beauty Swellness. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Bring on the bourbon Las Vegas: The healthy side of LV

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Leesh  |  November 30, 2012 at 8:17 AM

    When I saw your nails, I was thinking of that video too! Very cool!

    Reply
    • 2. healthandswellness  |  December 4, 2012 at 11:41 AM

      Leesh, so funny that you thought of that video, too!

      Reply
  • 3. Tara V  |  November 30, 2012 at 10:26 AM

    Very cool!

    Reply
  • 5. Beauty Swellness: The Nail Report « Health & Swellness  |  December 24, 2012 at 1:09 AM

    […] the holidays (the clothes, the shoes, the jewelry, the Christmas lights!), so after getting my Las Vegas Rock n Roll marathon mani removed last week, I was in the mood for something glittery, but not too rainbow […]

    Reply
  • […] Las Vegas (where I ran the half-marathon with some fancy light-show nails in December and discovered healthy activities in Sin City, whodathunkit?), I had the chance to stay […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 230 other followers

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Categories


